People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072 ) and on Zoom (password: ece445)

Name Time
Sophie Liu (In-Person) Monday 10am-11am
Daniel Vargas (In-Person) Monday 1pm-2pm
David Null (In-Person) Monday 2pm-3pm
Bonhyun Ku (Online) Monday 4pm-5pm
Andrew Chen (In-Person) Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Dean Biskup (In-Person) Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Ali Kourani (Online) Tuesday 3pm-4pm
Anand Sunderrajan (Online) Wednesday 10am-11am
Prashant Shankar (In-Person) Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Haoqing Zhu (In-Person) Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Alex Sirakides (In-Person) Thursday 1pm-2pm
Shaoyu Meng (In-Person) Thursday 2pm-3pm
Evan Widloski (Online) Thursday 4pm-5pm (getting vaccine 2021-03-25. may be late)
Xihang Wu (Online) Friday 10am-11am
AJ Schroeder (Online) Friday 12pm-1pm
Chaitanya Sindagi (In-Person) Friday 1pm-2pm
William Zhang (Online) Friday 2pm-3pm

Spring 2021 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)
4066 ECEB
schuh4@illinois.edu
Computational Physics, Electromechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Storage, Tribology
Dean Biskup (TA)

dbiskup2@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Robotics, Embedded Systems
Andrew Chen (TA)

andrew6@illinois.edu
Distributed systems, cloud infra, networks, internet of things
Ali Kourani (TA)

kourani2@illinois.edu
Analog/RF Circuits, microwaves, antennas
Bonhyun Ku (TA)

bonhyun2@illinois.edu
power electronics, robotics
Sophie Liu (TA)

yiqiaol3@illinois.edu
Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Economics
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship, System Engineering
Linda Nguessan (TA)

lindan2@illinois.edu
Lab Monitor
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Ronald Roy (TA)

rroy21@illinois.edu
Lab Monitor
AJ Schroeder (TA)

ajschro2@illinois.edu
RF/Microwave, antennas, electromagnetics, communication theory, quantum information science,
Siyan Shaikh (TA)

siyans2@illinois.edu
Lab Monitor
Prashant Shankar (TA)

shankar7@illinois.edu
Music in engineering, signal processing, consumer electronics
Chaitanya Sindagi (TA)

sindagi2@illinois.edu
Power Electronics, Control Systems, Electric Powertrains, Battery Systems
Alexander Sirakides (TA)

as9@illinois.edu
Digital Logic / FPGAs
Anand Sunderrajan (TA)

anands3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Financial Engineering, FPGA Design
Daniel Vargas (TA)

dvarga27@illinois.edu
DSP/Electronic Music
Evan Widloski (TA)

evanw3@illinois.edu
Linux, Python, IoT, power electronics
Xihang Wu (TA)

xihangw2@illinois.edu
Micro/nanofabrication of semiconductors
William Zhang (TA)

yichi2@illinois.edu
False Tolerance & Reliable Systems, Computer Architecture, System Engineering
Haoqing Zhu (TA)

haoqing3@illinois.edu
Embedded and operating systems

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Gregg Bennett 1048 ECE Building   gbenntt@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building   mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building   cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building   wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building   swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Assistive Chessboard

Robert Kaufman, Rushi Patel, William Sun

Assistive Chessboard

Featured Project

Problem: It can be difficult for a new player to learn chess, especially if they have no one to play with. They would have to resort to online guides which can be distracting when playing with a real board. If they have no one to play with, they would again have to resort to online games which just don't have the same feel as real boards.

Proposal: We plan to create an assistive chess board. The board will have the following features:

-The board will be able to suggest a move by lighting up the square of the move-to space and square under the piece to move.

-The board will light up valid moves when a piece is picked up and flash the placed square if it is invalid.

-We will include a chess clock for timed play with stop buttons for players to signal the end of their turn.

-The player(s) will be able to select different standard time set-ups and preferences for the help displayed by the board.

Implementation Details: The board lights will be an RGB LED under each square of the board. Each chess piece will have a magnetic base which can be detected by a magnetic field sensor under each square. Each piece will have a different strength magnet inside it to ID which piece is what (ie. 6 different magnet sizes for the 6 different types of pieces). Black and white pieces will be distinguished by the polarity of the magnets. The strength and polarity will be read by the same magnetic field sensor under each square. The lights will have different colors for the different piece that it is representing as well as for different signals (ie. An invalid move will flash red).

The chess clock will consist of a 7-segment display in the form of (h:mm:ss) and there will be 2 stop buttons, one for each side, to signal when a player’s turn is over. A third button will be featured near the clock to act as a reset button. The combination of the two stop switches and reset button will be used to select the time mode for the clock. Each side of the board will also have a two toggle-able buttons or switches to control whether move help or suggested moves should be enabled on that side of the board. The state of the decision will be shown by a lit or unlit LED light near the relevant switch.

Project Videos