People :: ECE 445 - Senior Design Laboratory

People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072). NOTE:

Blue names are office hours held online via zoom.

Names highlighted in orange are additional office hours available up to the due date of the soldering assignment.

There are no office hours during the weeks of board reviews or final demos.

Chat Room

Ask technical questions here:

Summer 2024 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Viktor Gruev (Instructor)

vgruev@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Olga Mironenko (Instructor)

olgamiro@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)
4066 ECEB
schuh4@illinois.edu
Computational Physics, Electromechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Storage, Tribology
Prof. Victoria Shao (Instructor)

yangshao@illinois.edu
Nikhil Arora (TA)

na32@illinois.edu
Mechanical Design, Automotive Technologies, Additive Manufacturing
Sainath Barbhai (TA)

barbhai2@illinois.edu
Design Engineering, Finite Element Method, Sensors and Actuators
Zutai Chen (TA)

zutaic2@illinois.edu
Zicheng Ma (TA)

zicheng5@illinois.edu
Cloud computing, Database systems
Abhisheka Mathur Sekar (TA)

am113@illinois.edu
Mechanical Engineering, Design, CAD Modelling and Simulation, Fluid Mechanics, MRI, Human centric designs
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Jason Paximadas (TA)

jop2@illinois.edu
Power electronics, control, and instrumentation
Sanjana Pingali (TA)

pingali4@illinois.edu
Machine Learning Systems
Nithin Balaji Shanthini Praveena Purushothaman (TA)

ns49@illinois.edu
My area of interest include Mechanical Design, Design Analysis, Supply Chain(Circular), Industry 4.0, Data Science and RPA.
Koushik Udayachandran (TA)

koushik3@illinois.edu
Unmanned aerial vehicles. Risk assesment. Autonomous underwater vehicles . Aircraft design. Systems engineering and integration . Flight testing
Surya Vasanth (TA)

vasanth4@illinois.edu
Data Science and Analytics, Internet of Things, Human Centric Design
Angquan Yu (TA)

angquan2@illinois.edu
Douglas Yu (TA)

zeduoyu2@illinois.edu
Hardware Design, Computer Architecture, AI
Jason Zhang (TA)

zekaiz2@illinois.edu
AR, Robot and human interactions
Jialiang Zhang (TA)
CSL 403
jz23@illinois.edu
Hardware Systems, Computer Architecture
Tianxiang Zheng (TA)

tz32@illinois.edu
FPGA hls and mlir; Chronic signal processing; robotics and control; 3D printing;

Other Important People

https://ece.illinois.edu/about/directory/staff

The Marching Band Assistant

Wynter Chen, Alyssa Louise Licudine, Prashant Shankar

The Marching Band Assistant

Featured Project

NetID/Names

wynterc2 (Wynter Chen), alyssal3 (Alyssa Licudine), shankar7 (Prashant Shankar)

Problem

Drum majors lead and conduct marching bands. One of their main jobs is to maintain tempo for the musicians by moving their hands in specific patterns. However, many drum majors, especially high school students, need to learn how to conduct specific tempos off the top of their head and maintain a consistent tempo without assistance for performances. Even those with musical experience have difficulty knowing for certain what tempo they're conducting without a metronome.

Solution Overview

Our project consists of an arm attachment that aids drum major conducting. The attachment contains an accelerometer that helps determine the tempo in beats per minute via hand movement. A display shows the beats per minute, which allows the drum major to adjust their speed as necessary in real time. The microcontroller data is wirelessly transmitted, and a program can be downloaded that not only visualizes the data in real-time, but provides an option to save recorded data for later. There is also a convenient charging port for the device.

This project is a unique invention that aims to help marching bands. There have been previous projects and inventions that have also digitized the conducting experience, such as the Digital Conducting Baton from Spring 2015. However, these have been in the form of a baton rather than a glove, and are used to alter music files as opposed to providing feedback. Additionally, orchestra conductors use very delicate motions with a baton, while drum majors create large, sharper motions with their arms; thus, we believed that an arm attachment was better suited for marching band usage. Unlike other applications that only integrate digital instruments, this project seeks to assist live performers.

Link to RFA: https://courses.grainger.illinois.edu/ece445/pace/view-topic.asp?id=37939

Project Videos